Colfax, O’Connor shred at Shasta

By: Journal Sports Staff
-A +A
Jack Morgan had an extra spring in his step as he hustled around Thursday afternoon setting up for the California-Nevada Interscholastic Ski and Snowboard Federation awards ceremony. That’s because he knew his Colfax High boys snowboard squad would be taking home one of the coveted championship banners. The Falcons had three snowboarders in the top six to dominate slalom action at Mount Shasta Thursday and claim the boys team title. Meanwhile Placer senior Caty O’Connor capped her high school career with a signature performance. She dominated the slalom to complete a sweep of the championships and win her third individual state crown. “This year was just a complete domination,” Placer coach Mark Faulkner said of O’Connor’s performance. “You could see her complete focus and her technique on every run. She made all the right moves, read the course well and did everything perfect. She had almost a professional maturity about it.” Colfax’s Austin Leal followed up his second-place finish in the giant slalom on Wednesday with another runner-up finish in the slalom. He was followed closely by Danny Kern in fifth and brother Mackey Leal in sixth. Austin Leal and Kern landed spots on the All-State team by finishing in the top 10 overall. “It was a thrilling day,” Morgan said. “There was a predictable side and an unknown side. Nick Ash came into the box (in the GS Wednesday) to help us win. You can’t tell for sure who’s going to be there. I’m very excited, happy for the guys.” The Colfax girls were impressive as well. Freshman Nelly Steinhoff raced to seventh place in the slalom and took fifth place in the combined to earn All-State honors. Hailey Davidson was 36th in the slalom. Emma Obray had a solid 12th place finish in the slalom for the Hillgals. Senior Pete Porata raced to 10th in the slalom. Teammate Colton Davenport was 31st and Jacob Peek was 32nd in the field of more than 80. In the boys and girls combined team scoring, Colfax finished third and Placer was fifth. El Dorado won the CNISSF title. Bear River’s Demi Ganster finished in 30th to lead the Bruin girls. Kimber Otis was 64th and Bailey Kirby took 74th. Tyler Kline was 67th to lead the Bear River boys. James Leaman took 69th.