Janniro continues dominance of Fast Friday’s scratch mains

Reigning national champion has finished first in eight of nine events this season
By: Michael Kirby, Journal Speedway Correspondent
-A +A
In front of a packed house Friday night at Fast Friday’s Motorcycle Speedway in Auburn, Joe Jones and Jimmy Olsen won the Extreme Sidecars main event as the three-wheelers made their final appearance of the season. Jones and Olsen beat out four other teams going all out on their 900cc bikes at the Gold Cuntry Fairgrounds track. Billy Janniro continued to be the fastest man at the track Friday night, winning the Scratch Main Event. Janniro’s impressive win in the scratch finale Friday night was his eighth of the season. “The Kid” has only been beaten once this year, by Auburn’s Bart Bast in Week 4. Bast still leads Janniro in season track points. Janniro, out of Lane 4, beat Bryan Yarrow, who took second. Bast was third and Greg Hooten finished fourth. Hooten had a rough night, falling three times in heat races, but still fought his way into the scratch main. Janniro is riding in top form with two big races looming in the near future. The track championships are Sept. 11, and Fast Friday’s Motorcycle Speedway will host the final round of the AMA/USA National Speedway Championship on Oct. 2. Janniro, the 2008 national champion, will be trying to repeat, but faces stiff competition from seven-time national champion Greg Hancock, who is looking for his record eighth crown. Hancock and Auburn’s Mike Bast currently share the record at seven national titles each. In the Handicap Main Event, Charlie Venegas won for the first time this season. “I usually don’t go all out in the handicap program,” Venegas said. “If I make it, I make it, kind of saving it for the scratch. “But tonight I wanted to get in six rides and shine up all the gear, so I went for it. It’s hard in the handicap, with all the talent on the short yardage.” Division II was won by Mike Browne, his first main event win of the season. Second was Daniel Faria, and third was Shawn Eldredge. Division III was won by Dustin Berdollt. Fast Friday’s promoter David Joiner had to settle for second place for the second week in a row. Chris Wilkes was third Cody Ciciarelli took top honors in the Division I Youth Main Event. P.J. Bryne was second and Tanner Kane was third. Winning the Division II Youth Main Event was Jamison Dilkey. Ryan Vaughn placed second and Spencer Kane finished third.