Liss and Morillas win council race

Incumbents re-elected to Loomis Fire board
By: Martha Garcia, Loomis News Editor
-A +A
With 100 percent of votes counted, Gary Liss and Rhonda Morillas have been declared winners of the two Loomis Town Council open seats. Liss garnered 38.77 percent, or 1,623 votes in his first bid for public office. Four-term incumbent Morillas had 1,313 votes, or 31.37 percent. Tom Millward lost his bid for re-election to the council. His 1,223 votes totaled 29.22 percent of the 4,186 votes cast in the council race at Tuesday’s election. Voters returned incumbents Bryan Thomson, Dennis Gage and John Shearer to the Loomis Fire Protection District board. Candidate Jon Bergstrom was unsuccessful in winning one of the three open seats.