Our View: Auburn’s best are honored with McCann Award

-A +A

Nominate an Auburnite
If you know someone worthy of the Vernon Gould McCann Award, send your nomination and supporting documents to:
McCann Award, c/o Editor, Auburn Journal, P.O. Box 5910, Auburn, CA 95604, or
email to:

Deadline for nominations is 4 p.m. Monday, Feb. 25.

McCann Award Winners:
1979: Maurine Dobbas
1980: John Robinson
1981: Joe Chevreaux
1982: Jug Covich
1983: Vic Roumage &
    Virginia Fleming
1984: John G. “Jack” Walsh
1985: Norma Harris
1986: Ralph Roper
1987: Jean Couzens
1988: Steve Barooshian
1989: Cliff Merriam
1990: Gloria Cavenee
1991: Ralph Swann
1992: Helen Harlowe &
    Harry Rosenberry
1993: Max Strawser
1994: Vic & Bobbie Tamietti
1995: Annabelle McCord
1996: Jack Veal &
    Bob Robinson
1997: E. Ken Tokutomi
1998: Sue Dings
1999: Marilyn Gehlbach
2000: Monroe DeJarnette
2001: Doris Viera
2002: Richard Yue
2003: Bill Lipschultz
2004: Helen Bale /
    Esther Stanton
2005: Virgil Traynor
2006: Nick Willick
2007: Linda Robinson
2008: Harvey Roper
2009: Bart Ruud
2010: Cheryl Maki
2011: Bob Snyder
2012: Angela Atteberry

Living in Auburn is like residing in an all-star community when it comes to public service. And that’s what makes it the perfect place for the Vernon Gould McCann Award.

At Auburn’s annual celebration of its accomplishments, the McCann Award, named in honor of longtime Auburn Journal employee “Mac” McCann, the award will be bestowed to one person who unselfishly devotes their time and effort to making our town a great place to live.

Given out at the annual Auburn State of the Community Dinner, set for 5:30 p.m., May 10 at The Ridge Golf Course in Auburn, the McCann highlights an evening filled with those who have gone above and beyond in all aspects of life in the Auburn community.

The ceremony also recognizes those in business, education, nonprofits, government, health and several other areas where community members contribute to Auburn.

The McCann Award is the pinnacle of the evening as it recognizes an individual who exudes passion and commitment to the community, and in turn inspires others to contribute as well.

The 34-year history of the award shows the importance that is bestowed upon making our community a better place, and the list of winners is a who’s who of like-minded individuals who work tirelessly to improve this town’s way of life.

The 2012 winner of the award, Angela Atteberry, was speechless for a moment when she was honored for her “under the radar” volunteer work in making Auburn a better place.

“I’m blown away,” Atteberry told the Journal. “I’m really surprised. I’m really humbled. I’m really shocked.”

 So we ask you to continue the tradition of giving to our community — volunteer, support local events and organizations and find ways to make Auburn a wonderful place to live.