Placer swings into PVL title

Hungry Hillmen have eye on bigger prize
By: Justin A. Lawson Journal Sports Writer
-A +A
CARMICHAEL ? Austin Childress topped his tee shot on the 16th hole, but with the way the Placer senior played Monday it didn?t matter. Although his tee shot only traveled about 40 yards past the green tees, well short of the rest of the group, Childress only carded a bogey and that was about the only issue he had all day in a 1-over 73 effort. His tournament-leading score at the Pioneer Valley League Tournament No. 2 helped Placer to a team score of 387 at Ancil Hoffman Golf Course and the league title. ?I birdied the par-5 seventh hole and then birdied the first three on the back nine,? said Childress, who was named PVL Player of the Year. ?It was a pretty good round, the ending wasn?t perfect but I was very happy with it.? Placer unseated defending champ Lincoln, which finished second with 410 points. Colfax was third at 423 and Bear River was fourth with 440. Most players found trouble on the course. Only one player finished within four strokes of Childress and a host of others were at least five strokes back. All six Hillmen scored 80 or better at the course. Clark Pietromonico, Matthew Potter and Nathan Bonner all scored 78, while Cody Riecks and Daniel Gregg both carded 80. The celebration was mild and short-lived for the Hillmen. While they will gladly hang a PVL banner at Earl Crabbe Gym, their eyes are set on the Sac-Joaquin Section Division III title, which begins May 7 at Yolo Fliers Club in Woodland. ?They?ve played good all year and they were very happy to win today, but they feel like maybe they can take it a couple steps bigger and maybe get to state,? Placer coach Greg French said. ?That?s been their goal all year.? Colfax, which also advance to sectionals, was led by Chris Bauer?s 78. He was followed by Patrick Cabrera and Jay Lynch at 81, Jordan Balser had 89, Zack Wibberly posted a 94 and Blake Rawlings had 96. Aubrey Harwell led Bear River with a 78 and he was followed by Jake DePass at 79, Cory Langseth at 82, Austin Rounsaville at 99, Matt McDaniel at 102 and Christopher Lopez at 105. Harwell and DePass will play as individuals at the section tournament.