Who can you vote for in June?

Redistricting, Top-Two Primary Act shake up political landscape
By: Sara Seyydin Journal Staff Writer
-A +A
Editor?s Note: The Journal interviewed Jim McCauley, Placer County Clerk-Recorder-Registrar of Voters to learn about changes, including redistricting, going into effect for the upcoming June 5 presidential primary. Highlights of these changes follow. Q: What is the most significant change coming to the presidential primary in June? A: ?The whole way of electing candidates in the primary has changed. It is the two top vote getters that move on to the November election. All these names are going to appear on the same ballot. They don?t have to list their party preferences anymore. It?s going to be a very different election. It?s going to be very confusing for some voters.? An informational guide received from the office of elections on the Top-Two Primary Act or Proposition 14, approved on June 8, 2010 by California Voters, reveals that only U.S. President and County Central Committees will remain party-nominated contests. In the voter-nominated contests, which now include governor, lt. governor, secretary of state, state treasurer, state controller, state insurance board commissioner, state board of equalization, attorney general, state senator, state assembly, U.S. senator and U.S. representative elections, the top two vote getters will advance to the general election regardless of party preference and are not the official nominees of any party. Nonpartisan contests, including superintendent of public instruction, superior court judges, county offices, municipal offices, superintendent of schools and schools and special districts will continue to win outright in the primary if they receive a majority of votes. Q: Are there any other election trends you have noticed? A: ?The vote by mail is becoming more and more important. I tell (candidates) it?s critical that the voters have some sort of contact from you prior to the mailing of the ballots. About 16 percent of the registered voters that are registered to vote by mail vote that ballot within in 72 hours of receiving it. If they haven?t heard from you until Election Day, you are kind of missing the boat.? Subhead: Surge in California U.S. Senate Candidates California voters will elect one of 24 candidates for the U.S. Senate seat currently held by Diane Feinstien. This number shows a rise in the number of senate candidates from recent elections. According to the Placer County Office of Elections there were 14 senate candidates in 2010 and 6 senate candidates in 2008. Cost to file for senate race: $3,480 (2 percent of senator salary) Salary if elected: $174,000 Candidates for U.S. Senate: Diane Feinstein, Colleen Shea Fernald, David Alex Levitt, Nak Shah, Diane Stewart, Mike Strimling, John Boruff, Oscar Alejandro Braun, Greg Conlon, Elizabeth Emken, Rogelio Gloria, Dan Hughes, Dennis Jackson, Dirk Konopik, Donald Krampe, Robert Lauten, Al Ramirez, Nachum Shifren, Orly Taitz, Rick Williams, Gail Lightfoot, Kabiruddin Karim Ali, Marsha Feinland, Don Grundmann Reach Sara Seyydin at, or follow her on Twitter @AJ_News. _______________________________________________________ So who can you vote for? The state has been redistricted and your district in the Auburn-area may have changed depending on the boundaries of where your home is located. Information in this quick guide was obtained from maps developed by the Placer County Office of Elections. If you live in?. Auburn City Limits: 5th Supervisorial District , 4th Congressional District, 5th Assembly District and 1st Senate District North Auburn -West of Highway 49, South of Dry Creek Road and East of Joeger Road: 3rd Supervisorial District, 1st Congressional District, 1st Assembly District and 1st Senate District North Auburn- East of Highway 49: 5th Supervisorial District, 1st Assembly District, 1st Congressional District and 1st Senate District Ophir- South of Wise Road: 3rd Supervisorial District, 5th Assembly District, 4th Congressional District and 1st Senate District. Newcastle: 3rd Supervisorial District, 5th Assembly District, 4th Congressional District and 1st Senate District. Meadow Vista: 5th Supervisorial District, 1st Assembly District, 1st Congressional District and 1st Senate District. Now that you have an idea of where your districts are, the following is a list of candidates running in each district within the Auburn-area. You can vote for?. 1st Senate District: Les Baugh, Ted Gaines, ?Bo? Bogdan I. Ambrozewicz, Julie Griffith-Flatter 1st Congressional District: Doug La Malfa, Sam Aanestad, Jim Reed, Nathan Arrowsmith, Gregory Cheadle, Michael Dacquisto, Pete Stiglich, Gary Allen Oxley 4th Congressional District: Jack Uppal and Tom McClintock 1st Assembly District: Robert Meacher, Brian Dahle, Rick Bosetti, David Edwards, Charley Hooper 5th Assembly District: Frank Bigelow, Mark Boyd, Rico Oller, Kevin Lancaster, Mark Belden, Tom ?Timothy? K. Fitzgerald 3rd Supervisorial District: Jim Holmes and Robert Grigas 5th Supervisorial District: Jennifer Montgomery, Mark Wright, Jerry Johnson, Richard A. Johnson, Gary T. Johnson