Auburn Union swears in three new board members

By: Staff Report
-A +A

The Auburn Union School District welcomed three new members to the Board of Trustees Wednesday night. Board President Daniel Berlant swore in Woody Hoffman, Sandra Scott and Debbie Goodrich

Hoffman is an incumbent to the board after being appointed to a vacant seat earlier in the year. Prior to joining the board, Hoffman worked for the school district for 16 years.

Scott brings to the board decades of educational experience. She is a retired educator from Sierra College who currently works as an education consultant.

Goodrich is a parent of a child at Auburn Elementary School. Prior to moving to Auburn, Goodrich sat on the board of Colfax Elementary School District.

After swearing in the newest members, the board reelected Daniel Berlant as board president and Lashaun Byer as clerk of the board.

Scott and Goodrich replace outgoing board members Lynn Hargrove and Ken Nittler. Hargrove and Nittler were thanked for their many years of service to the district and students of Auburn Union.

“We are looking forward to continuing the great work that has been accomplished toward providing the best education possible, as well as expanding the programs and services we offer to our students.” Board President Daniel Berlant said in a release. “Lynn and Ken both dedicated much time and energy ensuring the Auburn Union School District remained fiscally solvent and provided high quality educational opportunities to its students and I am excited to see their work continue with our newest board members.”

The Auburn Union School District serves the greater Auburn area with approximately 2,100 students. The District is comprised of four elementary schools and one middle school.

For more information on the Auburn Union School District visit