Meadow Vista’s Kane claims U.S. youth crown

Fast Fridays
By: Michael Kir Journal Speedway Correspondent
-A +A
If you missed the action at Fast Fridays Motorcycle Speedway in Auburn California Friday night, you missed a great night of action packed speedway racing. Fast Fridays hosted the U-21 U.S. National Championship, the Youth U.S. National Championship, and ran a full program of points division speedway racing. By the end of the evening a total of 56 racing events were staged and new U.S. champions stood on the winner’s podium. When the dust settled Meadow Vista’s Tanner Kane was the new U.S. Youth National Champion turning in a perfect night with 15 points after the semifinal round before squaring off against powerful Southern California rider Max Ruml, Jamison Dilkey and Dillion Ruml. “I knew I had a shot at it, I just needed to get a good gate, I had a perfect score tonight and feel real good about it,” said Kane. Ruml ran into some bad luck, falling in turn one of the final, which left open the door for Kane to show how it’s done. Kane led the rest of the race, riding flawlessly as Ruml, who also went into the final with a perfect 15 points, got back on his bike and tried to make up lost ground. He rode well but was not able close the gap and finished third. His younger brother Dillion Ruml finished second and Jamison Dilkey was fourth. The U-21 national was also an exciting program as Austin Novratil capped another impressive season with top honors. Novratil, the 2010 Youth National Champion, also had a rough race early in the program. In Round 2 he was unable to finish the heat race with bike problems. The 16 year-old Novratil did not give up and was able to finish all his other races including the semifinal with wins and wound up in lane two for the final with 12 points. In lane one was Russell Green who came in to the final with 14 points; Gabe Price had 11 points and sat in lane 3, and last year’s U-21 winner Bryce Starks was dug into lane four with nine points. Novratil’s experience proved overpowering and he led from beginning to end, riding perfectly. Starks finished second, Green was third and Price was fourth. The championships are decided by total points and after the final it was determined that Green and Novratil were tied and a run off was needed to determine the winner. Novratil won and landed a spot in the U-21 World Qualifier held in Europe next year. In the Division I scratch program Billy Janniro was involved in a serious crash in the semifinal, hitting the wall very hard after getting a little too close to Tommy Hedden’s rear wheel on turn two. Janniro got up after a few tense minutes on the track. He was okay, but out for the night. Bryan Yarrow won his second scratch main event in three weeks, after a crash between Bart Bast and Hedden caused a restart in the Division I finale. Yarrow finished ahead of Bast who was second, Charlie Venegas in third and Hedden in fourth. Bast still leads all Division I riders in season points with 1,950 ahead of Janniro who has 1,846, as of Aug. 12. Alex Marcucci continues to ride hard and won the Division I handicap main event. Marcucci, riding off the 30-yard line, held off Greg Hooten who finished second and Hedden who finished third. Rachalle Kerr picked up her third Division II main event win of the season further proving she is back in a big way as she gave up no ground against Robert Mellor and Ryan Bast who finished second and third. Chris Casey won his second the Division III main event of the season, Bryce Taddy was second and Billy Vaughn was third. It was an excellent night of speedway racing and next week the action continues at Fast Fridays as the Freestyle MX Jumpers will bring their exciting high flying show to the Gold Country Fairgrounds. Results 2011 U-21 National Championship U-21 Final Race 1-Austin Novratil 2-Bryce Starks 3-Russell Green 4-Gabe Price Run-off 1-Austin Novratil 2-Russell Green Overall Total Points (including final and run-off) Austin Novratil 3 0 3 3 3 3 3-18 Russell Green 3 2 3 3 3 1 2-17 Bryce Starks 2 3 2 0 2 2-11 Gabe Price 1 3 2 3 2 0-11 PJ Bryne 2 1 3 2 1-9 Ricky Felicio 2 3 1 1 0-7 Tyler Warren 1 2 2 1-6 Bryce Taddy 0 2 1 1 1-5 Brandon Leedy 0 1 1 2 0-4 Gino Manzares 3 retired-3 Michelle Fehrman 0 0 0 2-2 Will McCloskey 1 1 0 0-2 Results 2011 Youth National Final Race 1-Tanner Kane 2-Dillion Ruml 3-Max Ruml 4-Jamison Dilkey Overall Total Points (including final) Tanner Kane-3 3 3 3 3 3-18 Max Ruml-3 3 3 3 3 1-16 Dillion Ruml-2 1 3 2 2 2-12 Broc Nicol-3 3 3 2 1-12 Jamison Dilkey-2 2 2 1 2 0-9 Luke Becker 2 2 2 3 0-9 Colton Hicks 1 2 1 1 0-5 Curtis Hamill 0 0 1 2 1-4 David Mersaroli-1 1 1 0-3 Joseph Hernandez 1 0 0 1-2 Daniel Casey 0 1 0 0-1 Louis Mersaroli 0 0 0 0-0 Division 1 Scratch Main Event 1-Bryan Yarrow, 2-Bart Bast, 3-Charlie Venegas, 4-Tommy Hedden Division I Handicap Main Event 1-Alex Marcucci, 2-Greg Hooten 3-Tommy Hedden Division II Main Event 1-Rachalle Kerr, 2-Robert Mellor, 3-Ryan Bast Division III Main Event 1-Chris Casey, 2-Bryce Taddy, 3-Billy Vaughn