New leaders face school budget woes

New superintendent, principal join district
By: Gloria Beverage
-A +A

Placer Hills Union School District Superintendent Fred Adam has agreed to serve as superintendent of the Colfax school district through June 30, 2010, announced interim superintendent/principal Ken Poulsen.
“We’re very excited about the prospect of Fred Adam as superintendent,” said board member Brant Hoffman.
“It’s a win-win for Colfax,” added board member David Ackerman.
The memo of understanding between the Meadow Vista and Colfax school districts covers 24 days of billable work paid at $659 per day as well as mileage.
A calendar of the proposed Colfax workdays will be presented in January.
Adam will also serve as secretary of the Colfax Elementary School District board.
Meadow Vista resident Anne Stone was introduced Monday night as the new principal for Colfax Elementary and Iowa Hill Schools.
“I’m really excited to be here,” Stone said. “I’m looking forward to working with Ken and all of you.”
Stone’s contract is effective Jan. 4, 2010 and runs through June 30, 2011.
Stone is currently principal of Williams Ranch School in the Pleasant Valley Elementary school District in Penn Valley.
The board also approved a salary schedule, starting at $80,507 and topping out at $94,507, for the new principal. An $850 annual stipend will be included for an accredited master’s degree.
Benefits include medical, vision and dental as well as mileage for district-related travel using a personal vehicle.
The contract stipulates the district will pay for the principal’s membership in the Association of California School Administrators.
Perhaps in response to the $73,000-plus buyout of former Principal/Superintendent Jon Ray in November, the new principal’s contract states “that upon termination of this agreement, the district has no cash settlement obligation.”
At the time of his resignation, Ray was being paid $97,335 per year.
He received a one-time lump sum payment of nearly $27,000 plus a portion of his health benefits for six months. Ray was also not required to repay a pro-rated portion of a $50,000 bonus (approximately $43,750) he had received in July.

New officers selected
Michelle Gibbs took over as president of the school board replacing Janelle LaBrecque. Carmen Armstrong will retain her role as clerk of the board.
Other board assignments include David Ackerman as voting representative to the County Committee on School District Organization; LaBrecque as non-voting representative to the Colfax Elementary School Site Council; and Brant Hoffman as board representative to the C.O.R.E. Board of Directors.